I know this is a touchy subject. A subject that even got Tomi Lahren suspended and soon after fired from The Blaze. Note: We’re sticking to abortion as an issue in the United States, and I will not discuss women aborting their fetuses due to the fetus’s birth defects or gender.

Let me start off by stating that I am a woman, but I have not experienced an unexpected pregnancy. OK, now take a deep breath…long story short, I am pro-life. I believe that life begins at the sperm’s fertilization of the egg. Therefore, I’m against abortion, embryonic stem cell research, IVF (on the fence since I know someone who has been through the IVF process), certain morning-after pills, etc. In general, I follow the guidelines listed here.

Note: just because I referred to the Village Church website, does not mean I endorse every belief the church or the pastor holds. So please, no comments arguing against the Village Church.

Of course my idea could be scientifically, and, possibly, even Biblically problematic. After some research, I found the following Congressional record: “Report, Subcommittee on Separation of Powers to Senate Judiciary Committee S-158, 97th Congress, 1st Session 1981”. S-158 (of the 97th Congress) was a bill titled: “A bill to provide that human life shall be deemed to exist from conception”. It was killed in the Senate, but what was interesting was the scientific testimony supporting the bill: several scientists stated their judgement that life did begin at fertilization. Specifics can be found here.

However, that was the scientific community of the 1980’s. The most recent scientific testimony I could get was in Web Topic 1.1 on the companion site for the textbook Developmental Biology, Eleventh Edition by Scott Gilbert, published in May 2016. According to this recent writing, scientists debate, if at all, whether human life begins at fertilization, gastrulation (when cells are “told” what to become), EEG activity (when brain activity can be measured), or birth. The writing tries to remain unbiased, but it leans left, as seen in the final thoughts:

By equating a fertilized egg with an adult human, one not only makes the zygote like the person; it makes the person like the zygote. As less than half of normal human conceptions make it to term, most zygotes don’t become babies. Zygotes can be cheap, and human life never should be.

However, some scientists hold that the question of when human life starts in development is unscientific, and they’re right because there’s currently no experimental procedure to answer that question. “Life” isn’t measurable (and hence not empirical), it’s philosophical. It all boils down to how you, as an individual, view the world and its events.

Science falls short in the abortion debate.

So, how do I, as an individual, view the world and its events. The best way to describe it is a fusion of the Judeo-Christian and Confucian worldview. Of course, as some of you would know, Confucius is out of the equation here because he was not the type to state specific opinions about topics. If you ever have the chance to read the Analects, you’d understand what I mean here. I will mention that Koreans traditionally include conception to birth as a year of life, so when a baby is born, the baby is already 1-year-old.

But most of my reasoning is based on my Judeo-Christian beliefs. Now, I will not answer any arguments against Christianity in this particular blog post. This is NOT what this is about because there are Christians who are pro-choice and believe that Christ died for them and rose again in three days. Let’s stick to the issue of abortion here. The only real way to convince me that pro-choice is supported by the Christian God, is to cite a Bible verse. And, it will be easy because I believe that every word of the Bible is true. I promise I won’t cop out if you successfully do this. Also, if you’re not a Christian and pro-choice and you wish to debate, I will debate with you based on your beliefs, not mine.

I already know of one now after reading the Web Topic 1.1: Exodus 21:22. John Piper, a respected theologian and pastor, refutes that claim on his site here. Of course, the site implies mistakes in Biblical translation, but let’s save that for another day.

Of course there’s countless Biblical passages that support pro-life: Psalm 139:13-16, Jeremiah 1:4-5, and Luke 1:41-44, to name a few.

But hold onto your seat-belts, pro-choicers, before you accuse me of being anti-feminist or small-minded. I am pro-life because I am a feminist; I am pro-life because I wish abortion did not even have to exist.

So do I believe that the government should legislate anti-abortion laws? To be honest, no, because I believe that abortion is a symptom of a bigger issue. Not to mention that governments are oftentimes ineffective, and there may be times when abortion is needed (let’s say if a girl is too young to give birth or if a woman is a rape victim or if a woman needs treatment that may kill her baby) and the law might not account for that. This is a fallen world, and sometimes the least worst thing has to be done.

There may be times when abortion is needed, and the law might not account for that.

So, what is the real problem? Inadequate sex education, for one. Although I’m a Christian and a proponent of abstinence, abstinence isn’t the only choice a young person can make. If you’re not a Christian, or not following religion that teaches abstinence before marriage, then you should be able to learn about contraception methods. In fact, even Christians and followers of other religions should know about contraceptives in order to better family planning. Just because you’re married and sleeping together doesn’t mean you want kids right away.

A second (and bigger) problem is lack of support (from government, organizations, clinics, churches, etc.) for pregnant women most likely to get an abortion. What is the primary reason for getting an abortion? Because the women don’t believe they can provide for their children. Maybe they’re too ill, and labor may endanger both the mother and the child. In other cases, giving the children up for adoption is a possibility, but how trustworthy is that system? Not to mention, why are men not taking responsibility for the children they father? Why are parents throwing out their pregnant teenage daughters?

So, yes, pro-choicers are right. Oftentimes, a woman’s only real option is abortion. I don’t support the Republican politicians’ method of handling this issue. It’s not about women or the babies for them, it’s about enforcing male entitlement. Just think about that photo with President Trump, surrounded by white men, signing the executive order pulling U.S. funding from organizations abroad that mention “abortion”. Where were the women? It’s not like female pro-lifers don’t exist.

It’s not about women or the babies for them [Republican politicians], it’s about enforcing male entitlement.

So, this is my view on abortion in one post. I apologize if this was long, but complex issues require long posts.

Feel free to engage in discourse and comment below. Remember, comments are moderated by me, so stay civil to each other and to myself.

Leave a Reply

